top of page
Post: Blog2_Post

Don't Despise Your Youth

When I first began to feel God's work in my life as an adult I always thought that I was too inexperienced in faith. I was too young. Not weathered.


Often I have feelings of being an imposter, especially with faith. The world is full of distractions from a virtue filled life and we are all imperfect. I felt that I was leading a different life at times than what God wanted from me. So I kept praying and asking for guidance on how I could feel more purposeful and authentic.


I have written on the draw of the books of Timothy but one verse in particular stood out for me. 1 Timothy 12 says "Don't let anyone despise your youth, but set an example for the believers in speech, in conduct, in love, in faith and in purity". For me, I was the one discounting myself based on my age and experience, but God tells us differently. The Bible says that we can be vehicles for faith through grace. I didn't necessarily need to do anything extravagant to be welcomed into the Kingdom, my ticket has already been bought.


The Bible teaches us that if we lead with love and follow His guidance we can be examples for others and genuine in our own journey. Some parts of that verse that stuck out for me was where Paul (the author of 1 Timothy) tells us first to be an example through speech. I was silent about my faith for a long time because I felt inadequate, but when I read this I felt more encouraged to use my voice and platforms to spread Jesus' message. By using speech I can convey to others where my intentions lie and also affirm for myself that what I'm saying and what I'm doing align.


I'll let you in on a secret, sometimes it doesn't. Sometimes I am filled with anger or anxiety which lead to me making a decision I otherwise wouldn't have made (like buying a vehicle on a whim after a bad day....true story, I'll tell you another time). Often this can lead to feelings of regret, remorse or in my case most certainly feeling like an imposter. But luckily our God is a gracious and forgiving God. Paul tells us to lead with love and be an example. We can make mistakes, but as long as love is at the forefront and we are working to overcome our challenges, I believe that we are on the right path.



9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page